Charming house #214 on 7A Street NE was built in 1913. The original owner’s name was Fred Hill. He owned the house until 1921 when it was purchased by John Straof.
Blue was a popular paint colour for Calgary homes at that time. When layers of paint are peeled back on the garage of this home, blue paint is revealed so it is likely blue was the original colour of the home as well.
Bridgeland was a’working man’s’ community, mostly made up of Italian, Ukrainian, Russian and German immigrants. Gypsy caravans could be found down near the river, an area that Natives occupied before Calgary was developed.
Property land titles are of note in Bridgeland – many titles still include mineral rights, which is rare.
Some tidbits about Calgary in 1913, taken from the 1913 Hendersen’s (sic) Directory:
• Population estimated to be 80, 851
• The Mayor was Herbert A. Sinnott
• There were 31 public schools, Bridgeland school being located at 2nd Avenue and 14th Street NE
• First time mortgage rates were between 5% and 85 depending on the amount of the loan.