“Then & Now” columns appeared weekly in the Calgary Herald between 2002 and 2005. The following article appeared June 9, 2004.
Sunalta Cottage School
536 Sonora Ave. S.W.
• The original 1909 Sunalta Cottage School, located on 12th Avenue S.W. at 16th Street, was active until the 1950s and demolished for a park in 1982. A new sandstone school was built under the supervision of architect and first superintendent of school buildings William Branton, on a hill overlooking the Bow River valley and opened in September 1913. The design, called Sunalta, was identical to the King George and Ramsay schools. Sunalta became an elementary-junior high in 1938 after a successful experiment based on the new American idea of junior high school. After enrolment declined in the late 1970s, Logos, a non- denominational Christian school, was given approval to operate there until 1984.
• Sunalta Elementary School reopened as a public school in 1985. It is one of the few historical sandstone structures still in use as an elementary school under the Calgary Board of Education. The city has recently bestowed Sunalta school with a heritage recognition plaque. In 1995, a mural painted by Dean Stanton with the school's input was designed to cover the cinder block walls of the 1957 addition. It is an appealing landmark for motorists driving down Crowchild and Bow trails. The school, whose motto is "Working and Growing Together" boasts an active parent community and volunteer program. It offers strong fine arts and physical education programs.