“Then & Now” columns appeared weekly in the Calgary Herald between 2002 and 2005. The following article appeared January 13, 2004.
3015 Glencoe Rd. S.W.
Then: Millican Residence
• This graceful three-story stucco residence was built in 1914 on a triangular lot in the heart of the Elbow Park area for prominent Calgary lawyer William Millican. For nearly 20 years after the Millican family moved out in 1924, it served as an Osteopathic Health Home. The house continued a history of prestigious inhabitants with the next owner, Samuel Nickle, who by 1956 had established his company, Anglo American, as one of the country's largest Canadian-owned integrated oil companies. Samuel and his wife, Olga, who was an accomplished violinist, raised four children here, including Carl, who was a member of Parliament (1951-56) and founder of the Daily Oil Bulletin, an oil industry magazine. In 1968, this philanthropic family, which donated $1 million to establish the University of Calgary's Nickle Arts Museum, generously gave the house on Glencoe Road to the Calgary diocese of the Anglican Church. The house was designated a provincial historic resource in 1981.
Now: Private residence
• From 1968 to the late 1990s, the former Nickle residence housed the offices of the Calgary diocese of the Anglican Church. The escalating costs of maintaining the home was a factor in the diocese's decision to move to another location. In 1999, they turned it over to Designer Showcase, a fundraising initiative for the Kids Help Line. After an extensive makeover by local designers, the house was opened to curious Calgarians for the traditional few weeks of the annual showcase event. It was subsequently sold and is now once again privately owned.